• Thu. May 19th, 2022

Latest & Breaking News for Gamers

Never miss the latest news in the world of games and IT

Dungeons & Dragons Unveils New Anthology Guide Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel



Mar 24, 2022

At this time Wizards of the Coast have introduced the subsequent Journey Guide for Dungeons & Dragons. Whereas we’re already so shut off the heels of Vital Function: Name of the Netherdeep it appears the occasion should journey on. At this time’s introduced e book is named Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel, following within the path of Candlekeep Adventures, the Radiant Citadel might be stuffed with anthological adventures centered across the titular Radiant Citadel. We had an opportunity to sit down in with Ajit George, one of many leaders of this venture, in addition to a number of the writers of adventures inside to be taught what the Radiant Citadel was all about.

What’s Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel?

After writing for Van Richten’s Information to Ravenloft and creating the Indian-themed Area of Dread, Kalakeri, Ajit George was impressed by the concept to create a e book whose content material was impressed by PoC writers and their very own experiences and cultures. After assembly with Jeremy Crawford the concept was greenlit ensuing on this e book that he was additionally requested to co-lead the manufacturing of this e book. From the covers of the books, common cowl by Evyn Fong (Pictured above) and alternate artwork cowl by Sija Hong, to the content material inside there have been 50 PoC engaged on and supporting this e book in a method or one other. George, who can also be a Director of Operations of the Shanti Bhavan Kids’s Venture had the next to say on the e book’s announcement:

This e book is beautiful in its scope and ambition. It blows open the D&D multiverse with a recent set of thrilling adventures that function gateways to new lands, monsters, characters, and extra, gifted writers from across the globe got here collectively to make one thing really particular. There’s by no means been something like this in D&D earlier than.

Inside the e book there are 14 completely different adventures ranging in ranges from Stage-1 by way of Stage-14. The adventures will take you thru not solely the Radiant Citadel to locations throughout the fabric aircraft. The Citadel itself is located inside the Etherial aircraft permitting for it to be accessed from any realm or any story you may already be telling. If it appears like there’s an journey that you simply’d need your gamers to expertise you possibly can drop it proper into your world.

The Radiant Citadel itself is a spot the place wanderers from all throughout the multiverse acquire collectively. Being made initially by 27 completely different civilizations it was misplaced to the ages earlier than being rediscovered by 15 of them, the remaining 12 have deliberately been left clean to permit for DMs to increase upon the mythology of the Radiant Citadel.

The Adventures Inside and Across the Radiant Citadel

To speak in regards to the Stage 1-2 Journey “Salted Legacy” author Surena Marie was in a position to clarify how gamers will turn into entwined in a generational struggle between two vendor households. As vandalism continues and tensions rise the occasion will attempt to work out who the true perpetrator is. They’re going to have to earn the belief of the market by competing in a spice contest, or a prawn patty making competitors that features preventing big prawns. When scripting this story Marie needed to make it accessible to new gamers, but in addition one thing that may be entertaining to observe for liveplay creators and audiences. There was additionally significance positioned on the occasion serving to the neighborhood, and getting concerned within the legacy of the 2 warring households and the way these may be resolved. Pulling on her personal experiences Marie defined that this journey is rooted in Thai tradition and household techniques.

Journeys through the Radiant Citadel Salted Legacy

The Stage three Journey is written by Erin Roberts, taking a tough swing away from preventing prawns to prepare dinner up dinner, Roberts’ journey “Written in Blood” roots itself within the American South. Happening in Godsbreath, which is predicated on the black expertise within the Southern United States, it was Roberts’ probability to root round in her personal historical past in Mississippi, Florida, and Georgia.

The very first thing that I did once I acquired the prospect to put in writing that is run to my great-uncle’s e book “Rising Up Black In Rural Mississippi” and look by way of it […] and actually getting an opportunity to floor myself in what the expertise within the black rural south and the way we will make that magical and wonderful in D&D Content material

Godsbreath is made up of Bayou-like areas with buying and selling posts and monsters within the water, farming lands the place the fields have gotten barren, and a port metropolis that will get its inspiration from New Orleans. Because the gamers are having fun with festivities the pleasant folks of Godsbreath start turning on one another, it is as much as them to find what has taken over the land. This journey can have much more horror and thriller to it.

The Stage 11 journey titled “Shadow of the Solar” is written by Justice Arman. Set in a holy metropolis state run by an angel there’s pressure between these in energy and the foundations that they proceed so as to add to, and people within the metropolis who want to unseat him. Gamers will encounter quite a lot of resistance teams which might be every build up their very own forces. Gamers might be torn between serving to the completely different factions, weakening one whereas empowering the opposite. It is these choices that may shift what allies and enemies they will face and kind all through their journey. This journey is steeped in Iranian legends and mythology.

What are the opposite Radiant Cital adventures?

Whereas solely three have been mentioned within the discuss with had with Wizards of the Coast we additionally acquired the complete checklist of named adventures. They’re as follows:

  • Salted Legacy
  • Written In Blood
  • The Fiend of Hole Mine
  • Wages of Vice
  • Sins of Our Elders
  • Gold for Fools and Princes
  • Path of Destruction
  • Within the Mists of Manivarsha
  • Between Tangled Roots
  • Shadow of the Solar
  • The Nightsea’s Succor
  • Buried Dynasty
  • Orchids of the Invisible Mountain

Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel will complete 224 pages throughout all of those adventures and introduce new monsters, in addition to reintroduce first and second version monsters with model new stat-blocks. Introduced right now, Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel might be out there for buy releasing on June 21st, 2022. Additionally out there by way of {game} shops, you’ll choose up the Alternate Art work for the e book for a restricted time.

TechRaptor want to thank Wizards of the Coast for inviting us to listen to about Journeys Via the Radiant Citadel and for an opportunity to listen to these authors discuss their adventures.

Rate this post
(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)